Real Stories From Life at a Dealership

People are the experience

CHIEF PETTY OFFICER

Sierra Motors        “One Low Price, Plain and Simple…ALWAYS !”

 

 CALL TODAY  @800.571.0275 

 ericp

http://www.sierramotors.net/HomePage

Lew Stults is a friend who has been in the same neighborhoods that I have. We share a common history in business management. There is one Gentleman, that both of us, have had the opportunity to endure; we worked with Cliff. One of the Joys of management is the people that you get to hire. Lew got to hire Cliff.442M

 

 

 

In an automobile dealerships sales department, the average employee, isn’t always average. We get many people at different phases of their life and a lot of times, it’s in a transitional period for them. Sometimes it takes a while for that square peg to fit into a round hole.

Here’s Lew’s favorite Cliff story.

I hired him in 1986, Cliff was two years retired as a Chief Petty Officer from the Navy. His first day was a Monday morning sales meeting (8:00 am) in the conference room. The room was still littered with pizza boxes and coke cans from the weekend. As you may remember, six of my 12 salespeople were women. I had Barbara Bright, Peggy Slaton, Debbie Loggins and cpo cupthree others. I introduced Cliff to the sales team, they applauded and welcomed him, and I asked him if he had anything to say. He said: “Thanks for the welcome, but looking around the room, I can’t help but think that with all the women you’ve got working here you could have had this place cleaned up!” That was typical Cliff.

Thanks Lew

 

If would like me to share your Automotive story with my readers just leave a commit and I’ll get back to you.  Thanks again for taking the time to share with me my personal tidbits about the Industry that I love.

EP

June 18, 2009 - Posted by | barbara bright, chief petty officer, lew stults, management, peggy slaton | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

