Real Stories From Life at a Dealership

People are the experience

PILLOW BACK SEATS

Sierra Motors        “One Low Price, Plain and Simple…ALWAYS !”

 

 CALL TODAY  @800.571.0275 

 ericp

http://www.sierramotors.net/HomePage

PILLOW BACK SEATS

 

As with a lot of people, some of the activities that I participated in during my youth were less than respectful endeavors. It was during my first year in car sales and after one of “those” nights in 1984, that I showed up to work more than a little hung over.

 

July in the Mojave Desert is hot, dry, dusty and windy. I had been out almost all night and came to work in less than stellar condition. This was not all that unusual for me at the time. It was in the middle of the day and about 107 degrees in the shade. I was dehydrated from last night’s alcohol consumption. I don’t think I slept at all, as a matter of fact it was, “AN ALL NIGHTER”. But here I am in a dress shirt, slacks and a tie …”Ready to dance’.

 

In comes a nice older Gentleman. He is driving an older Caprice. He wants to look at a new Caprice Classic Brougham. You remember the really cool one that had the quarter vinyl roofs… Hood ornaments and white wall tires of course they were standard. This one had these really nice pillow back seats and the ride was so smooth. Don’t forget the wire wheel covers. It reminded me of the one they drove to do the circumcision, on Saturday Night Live.

1G1BU51E4KA155015-1

 

The Gentleman says that he would like to take it on the freeway. That sounded great to me. We had had the A/C on for a little while and it was so nice and cool inside. Those pillow-back seats must have been really comfortable. We got on the freeway and headed north, I fell asleep.

 

It’s hard to judge how much time passes when you’re asleep. But when I opened my eyes I soon realized that we were almost to Mojave. I suggested that we turn around now. We did and went back to the dealership. He liked the Brougham, so he traded his Caprice in and bought it.

 I just wonder how far he would have driven if I had stayed asleep for a while longer? Sometimes I think back and wonder if I was first to wake up.

EP

May 27, 2009 - Posted by | all nighter, Caprice Classic Brougham, eric prothro, jamestown, sierra motors, test drive | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Eric,

    I’ve got Mayle’s old white one with 24300 miles on it …. Would sell for right price..

    Rick

    Comment by Rick Abercrombie | May 29, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

